Foundation Phase2019-04-05T12:35:49+01:00

Foundation Phase

What is the Foundation Phase?

The Foundation Phase is the statutory curriculum for all 3 to 7 year olds in Wales.

It encourages children to use their imaginations and to be creative,  making learning fun and more effective.

Children are given opportunities to explore the world around them and understand how things work by taking part in practical activities relevant to their developmental stage. They are challenged through practical activities and develop their thinking with open-ended questions. Children are encouraged to explore concepts and share ideas for solving problems.

The Foundation Phase has 7 areas of learning which are delivered through practical activities and active learning experiences both indoors and outdoors. The areas of learning are:

  • personal and social development, well-being and cultural diversity
  • language, literacy and communication skills
  • mathematical development
  • Welsh language development
  • knowledge and understanding of the world
  • physical development
  • creative development.


Useful resources:

In this section


Subscribe to our e-newsletter to get regular updates and special offers in your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.